September 14, 2009

Moving on – Come With Me!

Posted in 1 at 12:52 am by reviewsonbooks

bookgoing

Alas, all good things sometimes have to come to sort of an end. I am closing this review blog as of today.

But the really good news is that I am continuing my reviews, it will just be in a different setting over at blogspot. Please continue to join me in my reviewing fun at the new DelGal’s Book Reviews

August 29, 2009

BTT – “Fluff” books

Posted in BTT, memes at 10:06 am by reviewsonbooks

I’ve just realized a little late that I forgot to complete the Booking Through Thursday meme. So here it is, better late than never!

This week’s question is:

What’s the lightest, most “fluff” kind of book you’ve read recently?

I’m usually juggling two books at once, one from the large list of ARCs of which I receive one or two every few days, and one book from yet another large list of my own personal TBR books. Most recently both of my books happened to be on the fairly “fluffy” side, and took only one evening to read. The good thing is that both of them were quite cute, and were definitely one of those “feel good” books, the first filled with cute short stories telling tales of life issues, and the second one filled with quotes about life, songs and various other things related to Henson and his Muppets.

unclechestnut

The Inconvenient Adventures of Uncle Chestnut by Paul Nowak

kermitbook

It’s Not Easy Being Green: And Other Things To Consider by Jim Henson (and his muppet friends)

August 26, 2009

Weekly Geeks

Posted in memes, Weekly Geeks at 1:10 am by reviewsonbooks

I’ve decided to join a new bookish meme called Weekly Geeks. I hope you enjoy this week’s question/my first post:

weeklygeeks

I think just about every reader has a least one book that they’ve been meaning to read for awhile (months or even years) but, for one reason or another, they just haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe it’s a book a friend recommended last year, or a title you’ve flirted with in a bookstore on more than one occasion, or maybe it’s a book that’s sitting right there on your bookshelf, patiently waiting for you to pick it up — but the thought is always there, in the back of your mind: Why haven’t I read this yet?

This week, tell us about a book (or books) you have been meaning to read. What is it? How long have you wanted to read it? And, why haven’t you read it yet?

Although I have quite a large TBR list of books which include things I’ve had for years and more recent review copies sent to me, I have only a few that I’ve been meaning to read for a long time, and really have never gotten around to reading for whatever reason (probably because I’m being inundated with new books to review all the time). These books are mainly old classics, or banned books that were deemed to be “naughty” in nature back in the day, which of course piqued my interest because of said banning, but apparently not enough to make me quickly dash to read any of them. Ah well, maybe some day.

Go Ask Alice – Anonymous/Beatrice Sparks

Peyton Place – Grace Metalious

Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

Lolita -Vladimir Nabokov

Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D. H. Lawrence

August 20, 2009

BTT – Best Recent Read

Posted in BTT, memes at 10:05 am by reviewsonbooks

Today’s Booking Through Thursday question asks

What is the best book you’ve read recently?

Well, using the 5 star rating system that I use on goodreads.com as my reference point, the last book I read in my 2009 book list that I thought was worth of a 5 star rating would be, In the Land of Cotton by Martha A. Taylor. You can find my review of the book in my June post here

August 6, 2009

Booking Through Thursday

Posted in 1 at 3:29 pm by reviewsonbooks

I’m back raring to go and ready to complete more memes! This week’s question from BTT is:

What’s the most serious book you’ve read recently?

I’ve found myself reading two books related to the addiction field (I used to be an addictions counselor) in the past month.

1. Creative Recovery: A Complete Addiction Treatment Program That Uses Your Natural Creativity – By Eric Maisel, Susan Raeburn

2. Living in the Rear View Mirror: From Substance Abuse to a Life of Substance – By Kim Vazquez

Both of course, are quite serious, and also happen to be nonfiction. The first book is a text based program to assist counselors who have clients in the creative arts field such as writers or other artistic endeavors which generally seperate their thinking patterns from the rest of our culture, and  the second book is a memoir that is about a woman who stuggled with her addictions and made it through to sobriety successfully.

July 20, 2009

Review #23 – Androgynous Murder House Party – Steven Rigolosi

Posted in fiction, quill reviews, Review at 11:25 am by reviewsonbooks

androgynous

This review originally posted on Feathered Quill Reviews

Androgynous Murder House Party: Tales From the Back Page #3.

A strange holiday weekend commences when Robin Anders, an extreme fussbudget and wealthy estate owner, invites six friends to stay in his mansion. When a few dreadfully near-fatal mishaps occur during their stay, Robin gets a sneaking suspicion that one of his friends is plotting murder, and worse yet, he just may be the victim. However, all of the friends manage to survive the lavish weekend and return to their normal lives in Manhattan. Well, normal until someone unexpectedly dies thus giving Robin the impetus to start his own private investigation of all the remaining friends. In the meantime, readers are taken on a whirlwind ride, one in which the author questions the sexual orientation and identity of the characters — for you see, Robin, Lee, Alex, Law, Chris, Terry and J, are all of ambiguous gender. Are they male or female, straight or gay, and who did the murdering in the first place? Hopefully it will all be tidied up in a succinct answer by the time the reader finishes the story, or will it?

Author Steven Rigolosi’s strange tale of androgyny and unknown sexual orientation wrapped up in a great murder mystery that has plenty of plot twists, keeps the reader on his toes. It is a bit confusing at times, but definitely thought provoking. Robin, the main character is quite hilarious, but also nasty, and has a few strange quirks including narcissism, and a constant need for wonder pills which are oddly named after numerous fruits and vegetables. What keeps readers riveted throughout the story is Rigolosi’s vivid descriptions of all the characters. At the same time, the author leaves critically important points out of the mix that keep readers guessing as to the characters’ gender. The suspense thickens when Robin, who is seen as more of a wilting flower than an FBI trained investigator, decides he/she must discover who killed one of the friends. Androgynous Murder House Party is an enjoyable read and written in such a way to both confuse and hook readers with countless questions of “what is it?” and “who did it?”

June 22, 2009

New Review Category

Posted in Random Musings at 12:40 am by reviewsonbooks

As a new aspiring writer, (or should I say a new writer deciding to go public instead of keeping it under wraps like I’ve been doing most of my life) I am anxious to write, and make it thrilling enough that people will actually want to read it.  Of course being an intellectual nerd writer and avid reader, I cannot merely slap down words onto a paper and hope some publisher will in the end, after my sweat and revising, decide they want to sell my book to the masses.  Alas, I must learn the proper way of writing and the best way to market myself to sell the most books.  But how do I accomplish this task? There is a major plethora of books out there on how to be the best writer, have the most dazzling characters, and even how to self-publish, but which ones are really worth reading and will actually help me, and which ones are just a lot of words that look good but are merely an ego boost written by a haughty author? This has become my question as of late when I discovered my writing to-be-read book list I had been accumulating in the past few months, had gown to a staggering  25 books. So I figured why not read a good amount of them as a reviewer and a writer combined and give opinions on how useful or worthless a book might be to a new writer like myself.

So beginning in a few weeks, DelGal’s Book Reviews will also include book reviews of the writing genre in hopes of discovering the most helpful books for aspiring authors.

June 17, 2009

Review #22 – Get Fit With Your Dog – Karen Sullivan

Posted in DelGals books, non-fiction, Review at 4:27 am by reviewsonbooks

getfit

Unfortunately nowadays with many people working sedentary jobs involving little movement other than typing endlessly on a keyboard, people have become increasingly heavier and out of shape. Dogs are not exempt from this issue either, especially since many families are busy at work all day, and come home to vegetate on the couch ignoring the family dog who has been sleeping and inactive for the entire day. Many find the desire to workout and are successful, but then feel guilty because they don’t spend enough time with their dog. So what better way to be able to fit both exercise and quality time with your pets than to workout with the dog too! Get Fit With Your Dog provides the reader with ample health information and plenty of color photos, and charts about both humans and dogs alike. It also offers nutrition information and numerous exercise suggestions, including how to create your own dog agility course to not only get owners moving, but to get doggies body and mind active too. This suggestion may seem a little bit too unrealistic for some owners, but there are plenty of other more sensible activities from simple hiking to swimming with your pooch that will get you up, motivated and active with your dog.

June 16, 2009

Teaser Tuesday

Posted in DelGals books, non-fiction, teaser tuesday at 1:58 pm by reviewsonbooks

This week’s read I just started a few hours ago is entitled:

underdog

One Nation Under Dog: Adventures in the New World of Prozac-Popping Puppies, Dog-Park Politics and Organic Pet Food. – Michael Schaffer

Random teaser #1:

“Plenty of contemporary pet owners would agree that their animal is more valuable than a new hardwood floor.”

Teaser #2:

“The growth of veterinary insurance coincides with a crisis in human medicine, where 47 million American humans lack their own health insurance.”

June 12, 2009

Review #21 – Serial – Jack Kilborn & Blake Crouch and Death Will Clean Your Closet – Elizabeth Zelvin

Posted in DelGals books, e-books, fiction, horror, Review at 3:22 am by reviewsonbooks

serialdeath

Reading can be a delightful adventure, and reading a good story for free only enhances the fun. Unfortunately, good free reading can tend to be few and far between, if you don’t take a visit to your local library. It also seems, from what I’ve experienced as a reader and reviewer, that the flashy best-sellers are sometimes pricey, and the not-so-good titles given away are of course, free.

I also have noticed that I am personally not a big fan of the short story because I feel somehow cheated of a more elaborately created story, as if there’s always something missing or more to say. But fortunately I’ve discovered two short stories both well written, intriguing until the end, and of course the best part is – they’re free and easily accessible on the Internet.

The first story is entitled Serial, written by Jack Kilborn and Blake Crouch, and has an interesting and creepy concept, which is an excellent twist on the “normal” life rules with regards to safety and behavior. We’ve all been told never to pick up hitchhikers, just in case they’re psycho, and we’ve likewise been warned the opposite is true, one should never attempt to hitch a ride, just in case…
But what might happen if neither person pays attention to the “rule” and both of them are psychos? Readers can find out the answer to this horrific tale, by pointing their browser to author Blake Crouch’s website at http://www.blakecrouch.com/serialchapter.shtml.
But please heed this warning, this story is gory, shocking and brutal at times, a must for horror fans, but definitely not for the faint of heart.

The second story has a bit of a different plot twist and is less gory, but nonetheless eerie, by psychotherapist and author, Elizabeth Zelvin, entitled Death Will Clean Your Closet. Fairly new to sobriety after being an alcoholic for many years, Bruce finally gets a chance one Saturday morning to clean out his walk-in closet. Unfortunately, not only does he find some bugs, he discovers the body of a woman laying on top of a pile of garbage bags filled with his clothes he planned on donating to charity someday. But as if that wasn’t strange enough, while Bruce is on the phone relaying this to his friends, he goes back to take another look at the body before he calls the police, and the body is no where to be found. What exactly is going on, is it related to his recent sobriety or is there something else going on? Death Will Clean Your Closet can be downloaded off of Ms. Zelvin’s site at http://www.elizabethzelvin.com/Books.htm.

Next page