May 1, 2009

BTT – Worse?

Posted in BTT, memes at 12:45 am by reviewsonbooks

Today’s BTT question is:

Which is worse?

Finding a book you love and then hating everything else you try by that author, or Reading a completely disappointing book by an author that you love?

For me, reading a completely disappointing book by one of my favorite authors is far worse than reading a good book and realizing the author just doesn’t do much for me other than that one book. Once I find an author that I enjoy, I want to learn more about them so I check out their website, maybe join their online fan club, and I try to read all of their books. Getting to know the author and enjoying their writing is wonderful, but if they start spitting out less than their best quality stories it’s very disappointing because I expect it to be as riveting as the others. Conversely if I find a new author, enjoy the book and start looking at their other works and decide I don’t like any of them, I am not as disappointed because I have not invested time in getting to know the author and reading all their books.

For example, I have been a big Stephen King fan since I was in grade school and I devoured all of his older stories and novels. I’m not exactly sure what happened but I was really disappointed in a few of his books, specifically the works he did in the mid to late 90’s. I was so annoyed by the novels that I stopped reading his works altogether for a few years and just recently started trying one of his newer novels. On the other hand, I read The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown and found the other book, Angels and Demons to be equally enjoyable but did not like any of his other novels. I honestly wasn’t too disappointed by this since I didn’t really get “close” to the author and invest time in learning about him.

3 Comments »

  1. Melanie said,

    I agree with you about King. I didn’t read any of his stuff for several years, then read the rest of his Dark Tower series when that was released. since then he seems to have gone back to some of his earlier style.

  2. jess said,

    I dislike when I read a fantastic book by an author and then hate everything else that I read by them. I can forgive my favorite author for one terrible book.

  3. Novroz said,

    hey another King’s fans 🙂 nice to meet you.

    I haven’t stop reading King’s books yet although I chosse the same answer as yours. I always forgive him for his not-so-good books.

    But just like you and Dan Brown…I never really care if he only done good job in Da vinci code…I like Da vinci code not dan Brown himself


Leave a Reply

