May 14, 2009

BTT – Book Gluttony

Posted in BTT, memes at 1:38 pm by reviewsonbooks

This week’s Booking Through Thursday question is:

Book Gluttony! Are your eyes bigger than your book belly? Do you have a habit of buying up books far quicker than you could possibly read them? Have you had to curb your book buying habits until you can catch up with yourself? Or are you a controlled buyer, only purchasing books when you have run out of things to read?

When I was working and had a little more extra money I was definitely a book glutton, especially discount books. My house was filled with books, a lot of them hidden under my bed in boxes for easy access for reading before I go to bed. I thought perhaps that since I’m not buying my books anymore that my pile of books would diminish, but then I realized that I could just go to the library and get them for free and ordering them online is seriously quick and easy. So the next thing I know I’ve got another pile of books that I want to read and yet another pile that came in and are sitting waiting to be read before I have to return them. Most recently I’ve also got an ever increasing pile of review books that are being sent to me and I can’t seem to stop and say “NO! I’ve got too many to review already” since some of the book summaries are rather intriguing. I’m thinking that enjoying a good book is actually an addiction or a curse because despite having tons of books in my house I still find myself at garage sales or in thrift stores searching through their piles of books. There’s nothing cooler than finding a good book, or a popular book and only paying a quarter for it!

3 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    That is perhaps my one “saving grace,” I don’t have the patience required to hunt for good books at garage sales. I could get into serious trouble with books for a quarter. (More trouble than I already have.)

  2. JLS Hall said,

    Yes, those review books can be seriously addictive. It still amazes me that publishers and authors are willing to send me free books just to get me to read and review them. I’ve had to cut way back on that because the ARCs are starting to pile up alarmingly.

  3. Mish said,

    Secondhand shoppes and garage sales are lifesavers, as are friends who keep handing me books. Now I only buy new a few times a year, like if I’ve hunted long enough or something is hot off the press and I don’t want to wait.


Leave a Reply

