August 26, 2009

Weekly Geeks

Posted in memes, Weekly Geeks at 1:10 am by reviewsonbooks

I’ve decided to join a new bookish meme called Weekly Geeks. I hope you enjoy this week’s question/my first post:

weeklygeeks

I think just about every reader has a least one book that they’ve been meaning to read for awhile (months or even years) but, for one reason or another, they just haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe it’s a book a friend recommended last year, or a title you’ve flirted with in a bookstore on more than one occasion, or maybe it’s a book that’s sitting right there on your bookshelf, patiently waiting for you to pick it up — but the thought is always there, in the back of your mind: Why haven’t I read this yet?

This week, tell us about a book (or books) you have been meaning to read. What is it? How long have you wanted to read it? And, why haven’t you read it yet?

Although I have quite a large TBR list of books which include things I’ve had for years and more recent review copies sent to me, I have only a few that I’ve been meaning to read for a long time, and really have never gotten around to reading for whatever reason (probably because I’m being inundated with new books to review all the time). These books are mainly old classics, or banned books that were deemed to be “naughty” in nature back in the day, which of course piqued my interest because of said banning, but apparently not enough to make me quickly dash to read any of them. Ah well, maybe some day.

Go Ask Alice – Anonymous/Beatrice Sparks

Peyton Place – Grace Metalious

Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

Lolita -Vladimir Nabokov

Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D. H. Lawrence

Leave a Reply

